Introducing the Asian Film Festival. Barcelona

Once again and together with Casa Asia a new edition of the festival specialised in Asian cinema is presented: Asian Film Festival.Barcelona (AFFBCN). At this fifth edition more than a hundred long films will be screened at three main venues: Girona Cinema, CaixaForum and Filmoteca de Catalunya, as well as at the following locations: Generator Hotel, Immigration Museum, Soho House of Barcelona and Singuerlin Library of Santa Coloma de Gramanet.

The Festival is organised in 6 sections: Official Section, Panorama Section, Netpac Section -to contest-, Discoveries Section, Special Section and “Retrospective” Section, which will be devoted to the film-maker Hsiao Hsien-Hou and there is also a short film programme.

Casa Asia continues working on the consolidation of the Festival with a more and more extense and geographically diverse programme with 25 Asian countries represented this year. With this contest we would like to approach narratives from the Asian continent to all kind of public, becoming a meeting and intercultural dialogue point.

For the Director of AFFBCN, Menene Gras Balaguer, the Asian Film Festival. Barcelona, as a festival specialised in Asian cinema, aims to become a international reference contest and a bridge between other festivals that have a relevant Asian presence in their programme such as Cines del Sur (Granada), Gijón Film Festival, Sitges International Fantasy Film Festival and San Sebastian Film Festival.

This fifth edition of the Festival is possible thanks to the support of many organisms and institutions and of people who have collaborated to make it possible as you can see in the list of thanks.

From these pages we invite all those fans of Asian films and “cinephiles” in general to enjoy Asian Film Festival.Barcelona that will be held between the 2nd and 12th of November.


Menene Gras Balaguer

Programing and Production
Menene Gras Balaguer
Rodrigo Escamilla Sandoval

General Coordination
Rodrigo Escamilla Sandoval

Technical Coordination
Sandra Mur Puyuelo

Coordinator Assistants
Baohan Zhang
Junzuan Ye
Nayana Truñó Despuig
Clara Fabregat i Giribet
Natàlia Prats Vega
Andrea Cobo Pérez
Joan Martí i Ventura
Marina Cuenca Martínez

Coordination Asian Cinemes Project
Jordi Julian Casaban

Cinemes Girona Direction
Toni Espinosa

Technical Assistance
Giulliana Burneo

Oriol Gironès
Owain Astles

Translation and Subtitles
36 Caracteres
Ernesto Rubio
Karl Pedall

Esteban Andueza
Sandra Mur Puyuelo
Teresa Vidaurre
Mercè Blasco
Esther Arias Valor
James Burke
Victoria Morales
Catalina Tobon

Catalogue Design and Layout
Oihana Montilla Ojeda

Nayana Truñó Despuig

Texts Translations (catalogue and web)
Andrea Cobo
Clara Fabregat i Giribet
Natàlia Prats Vega

Casa Asia Communication Department

Festival Website
SÖMI Graphic Studio

Resource Management
Adelaida Rodríguez

Sponsorship Manager
Pedro Ralda


To all Casa Asia’s staff members

Cinemes Girona
Toni Espinosa
Maria Angels Amorós
Giulliana Burneo
Fabio Maestri

Valentí Farràs
Josep Miquel del Campo Andión

Filmoteca de Catalunya

Generalitat de Catalunya
Department de Cultura
M. Àngels Torras Ripoll

Ajuntament de Barcelona

Diputació de Barcelona

Catalunya Film Festivals

Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office (Brussels)

Consejería Cultural de la Embajada de la R.I. de Irán en España
Mohammad Hassan Fadaidard
Alireza Esmaeili
Alireza Joleini

Farabi Foundation
Amir Esfandiari
Mahsa Fariba

Centro Cultural Coreano
Yi Chongyul
Eunyoung Cho

Japan Foundation
Shoji Yoshida
Alejandro Rodríguez Medina

Briccio Santos
Steve T. Sagun

Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema

Embajada de Kazajstán en España

Kazakhfilm Studios
Aizhana Kassymbekova

Cathay Pacific

We are Water Foundation

Golden Tulip



Erzhan Dogdurbek (Official trailer’s music)

Imagineindia Film Festival
Qazi Abdur Rahim

Medellin International Film Festival

White Cube
Will Davies

Víctor Xirau Montagut
Cristina Reventós Bosch
Xela Falgueras

Fundació TMB

El Periódico


Jesús Cartañà

Escola de Mitjans Audioviduals Barcelona (EMAV)

Escola de Cinema de Barcelona (ECIB)

Escola Superior de Cinema i Audiovisuals de Catalunya (ESCAC)

Bande à Part Escuela de Cine

Casa del Cine

All Youth Jury members


Official Section

Briccio Santos (Philippines)
Li Zhenhua (Hong Kong)
Galbayar Dashkhuu (Mongolia)
Mohamad Rahmanian (Iran)
Domingo López

Panorama Section

Carlota Moseguí (Spain)
Andy Lo (Hong Kong)
Taishir Bayasgalan (Mongolia)
Dastan Zhapar Uulu and Bakytbek Mukul (Kyrgyzstan)
Alexis Racionero (Spain)

NETPAC Section

Park Sungho (South Korea)
Esteban Andueza (Spain)
Sergio Racanati (Italy)
Owen Astles (UK)
Junya Ishii (Japan)

Young Jury

Daniel Belenguer
David Colete
Victoria García
Erik Vicente
Mateu Sagarra

Jury of the Cathay Pacific Award

Sandra Mur
Nayana Truñó
Terutarô Osanaï
Andrea Cobo
Baohan Zhang
Raul Sánchez
Clara Fabregat


Bhutan Film Trust
Culture Distributor (Mongolia)
Atrio Media CO.LTD
Alpha Violet
Bravos Pictures
Bteam Pictures
Custard Apple
Global Thrillers
Golden Scene
Emperor Group Centre
Film Republic
Films du Losange

Phantom Films
Les Films du Tambor
M-Line Distribution
Makama Films
Media House
Mongrel Media
Nikkatsu Corporation
Ripley Point Pictures
Selecta Vision
The Vision Factory
TinDrum Beats
Urban Distribution
We Distribution